Uncategorized · Updates

Resolve to Rock 2016

resolve-to-rock-meme-image

Like many of my fellow children’s librarians, I resolve to rock 2016! I have several professional and personal goals in mind for the year… I hope I can stay on top of them all. 

Professional Goals:
1. Read more. Yes, I know. I read like a fiend already, but for as concentrated as my job is on the 0-5 age group, I don’t read many picture books. I find books that go with my theme for storytime, but I don’t take the time to go through each book and study my selections. I also really struggle with the toddlers — what works, what doesn’t, and how to switch it up to make them more engaged. I need to pay more attention to the picture book world this year.

Blake-11.png
Photo credit: Jbrary.com

2. Revamp Toddler Storytime. It’s something I majorly stress over because this age group is SO DIFFERENT from my preschoolers. I need to look at my lapsit storytimes and implement some of those ideas into my toddler storytime for a happy mix of both. By the end of the year (hopefully it won’t take that long), I want to feel more confident with the toddlers and ready to take on their insanity each week.

3. Establish the library as a go-to spot for families. Find innovative ways to reach out to the community. Get more people in the door! So what if it takes extra effort?! Just do it! Visit local shops and doctor’s offices and drop off those calendars. Yes, it’s time-consuming, but so worth it.

4. Start SRP planning early and be more optimistic about the entire program. Yes, I said it via the Internet for all the world to see: I hate summer reading. It’s like a huge, looming cloud over what’s supposed to be a pleasant time of the year. Planning an entire program solo is daunting and overwhelming, I can’t even tell you how difficult it was my first year, BUT, year two will be more organized, efficient, and planned. No mess and no stress. Yes, the theme isn’t great, but I want to branch out and discover new ways to tackle the sports theme.

5. Quit avoiding the instruments. I play guitar. Start practicing and using it in storytimes! Ain’t nothing better than exposing kids to instruments right away.

Personal Goals:
1. Find new hobbies, volunteer, & make friends. I’m not doing much living if all I’m doing is reading and playing with the cats. This needs to stop. Start saying yes to everything. (Okay, within reason, of course.)

2. Exercise. Blogilates 3xs a week and actually use that $30 gym membership. Also, get up more at work. I’m unfortunately at the computer screen 85% of the day. I need to find ways to get my work done away from the screen.

3. Be positive! I complain about things I cannot control way too often. I know it’s cheesy, but life is better when you look on the bright side and try to be a better person every day. I need to be more open-minded and accepting of people and the life I have. There isn’t much to complain about if you are surrounded by people who love you and can wake up every morning with a roof over your head and food to take to an awesome job that pays your bills.

tumblr_inline_nkalr5WiBm1sjw0ft

One thought on “Resolve to Rock 2016

Leave a comment